The history of the House of Terror Budapest
The block of Andrássy Avenue 60, according to plans by Adolf Feszty, was built as a dwelling house in 1880. The appearance of a neo-neo-renaissance building on the corner of Andrássy Avenue - Csengery Street did not change during the change of ownership.
The building was owned by the Perlmutter family until 1936, and from 1937 the Szálasi wing of the Hungarian National Socialist Movement rented rooms in the house. In 1940, the Nyilaskeresztes Party arranged its headquarters here, taking possession of the whole building. The headquarters were named "House of Loyalty" by Ferenc Szálasi. The building was used as a gathering place and a prison from autumn 1944.
In February 1945 - the predecessor of the UAE - the Political Police occupied the house. The building was already tight, so the entire block was occupied. The cellars below the houses were connected by the breakthrough of the walls and were built in the cel-labyrinths.
The State Protection Authority owned the house until 1956. After leaving the building, the building was restructured and then operated as a headquarters or office building for various companies. In the cellar, every trace has disappeared and KISZ club has been organized.
The two terrorist systems survived In Hungary, the time has come for us to bring worthy memories to the defendants and to show what our countrymen meant to live in today's lives.
The Central and Eastern European Foundation for Research on History and Society purchased the building in December 2000 with the aim of presenting the museum of these two bloody epochs of Hungarian history. The Director of the House of Terror at the end of February, dr. Mary Schmidt.
During one year of work, Andrássy út 60 was built entirely from the inside. The design of the interior design, the exhibition of the museum and the work of the exterior facade are by F. Kovács Attila. The reconstruction plans of the House of Terror Museum were made by János Sándor and Kálmán Újszászy architects, the architect was Architekton Rt.
During the transformation, the building became a monument, the black passageway (goblet of stone, buffalo walls and granite pavement), with its contrast, highlights the museum on the Andrássy street, and its historical weight appropriately overlooks the house itself.
The exhibition in the building is installed on the ground floor, on the first and second floor, in the notorious cellars and in the stairwell and in the inner courtyard. Visitors can navigate through ten touch-screen terminals to view exhibition halls and rooms.
In addition to the material, the multimedia tools used in the building contribute to enhancing the authenticity and impact of the exhibition. Archive audio recordings related to each room can be listened to with an old phone. The screens and interviews on the Plasma TVs on the halls and on the roads can be viewed continuously.
The House of Terror opened on the 24th of February 2002, which is unique in its kind, wishes to commemorate our countrymen detained, offered and murdered in the building; Apart from the detailed presentation of horrors, this exemplifies that the sacrifice for freedom was not in vain. The XX. Finally, the struggle against the two most pessimistic systems of the century led to the victory of freedom and independence.